The Little Things

Life has been a bit overwhelming lately. A plethora of “issues,” large and small, and many things to attend to at home and outside the home. So I took a little time off yesterday to wander around our overgrown yard, enjoying the song of the Northern Mockingbird (the Jamaican “nightingale”) and photographing very small things. It is always good to enjoy nature in miniature.

Here are a few photos I took. I am still trying out my new camera, so the results are somewhat mixed. I am rather proud of the Lignum Vitae flower, however.

Enjoy your weekend!

This little fungus is the color of creme caramel...
This little fungus is the color of creme caramel…
New shoots after the rains… Brilliant green.
New shoots after the rains… Brilliant green.
When the lawn hasn't been cut for a while, tiny flowers appear...
When the lawn hasn’t been cut for a while, tiny flowers appear…
A petal from a flowering tree, caught on a branch.
A petal from a flowering tree, caught on a branch.
These flowers (we have them in a big pot, and I don't know the name - anybody) love the rain and are blooming constantly.
These flowers (we have them in a big pot, and I don’t know the name – anybody) love the rain and are blooming constantly.
Our spindly moringa trees. As you can see, we don't have many leaves to pick for tea - but plenty of seeds, which are nutritious.
Our spindly moringa trees. As you can see, we don’t have many leaves to pick for tea – but plenty of seeds, which are nutritious.
Isn't it amazing how, immediately after rain, snails appear like magic? I watched a ponderous, big snail making his way across the grass. When I went back later I could not find him - only saw his sticky white slime trail. I wonder if our resident "Hopping Dick" (White-Chinned Thrush) thought he would make a good dinner?
Isn’t it amazing how, immediately after rain, snails appear like magic? I watched a ponderous, big snail making his way across the grass. When I went back later I could not find him – only saw his sticky white slime trail. I wonder if our resident “Hopping Dick” (White-Chinned Thrush) thought he would make a good dinner?
The Lignum Vitae flower - Jamaica's National Flower. We planted two trees in our yard, years ago, when we noticed several had been cut down for the building of townhouses.
The Lignum Vitae flower – Jamaica’s National Flower. We planted two trees in our yard, years ago, when we noticed several had been cut down for the building of townhouses.
After the rains, there were fungi in some corners of the yard. I wish I knew the name of this, so delicate and moon-colored.
After the rains, there were fungi in some corners of the yard. I wish I knew the name of this, so delicate and moon-colored.

7 thoughts on “The Little Things

    1. Oh, thanks for letting me know! It reminds me of an iris. It grows lots of babies and I have replanted some of this. They are also thriving. They do like plenty of water, I find. Thank you!

      Like

  1. There are so many things I love about you, Emma, but one that I love most specifically is that you appreciate the small and beautiful treasures that, in our pace and fury, we often fail to notice. You don’t; these gorgeous photographs are a result. =D

    Like

    1. Dear Benji: I am so glad you enjoyed my post. I think I can produce better photos if I try, but thank you for your sweet and kind words. Love, Emma

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.