The Reggae Film Festival: An Update and a Gracious and Grateful Ending

My dear readers, as you may recall earlier this year (January 5, to be precise) I wrote about the Reggae Film Festival. Well, the bad news is that it will not take place this year, as planned. Here is a message posted by the Festival’s founder (filmmaker/writer Barbara Blake Hannah) on Facebook last Saturday:

“I heard the voice saying let go of it all. I wanna bless you in another way. You have passed this stage. But I kept saying it’s my passion, it’s what I love. Just then the vision JAH has for me was shown.”  After much consideration, I am cancelling all plans for staging another REGGAE FILM FESTIVAL. My health is my first consideration and I have been unwell for the past week. My doctor has ordered me to take a period of total REST, with no stress and no work that requires my active involvement. At my age I must consider my health as my most important priority. I hope you understand my position.I am pleased at the achievements of the Jamaica International Reggae Film Festival. We made lasting history, launched the careers of many Jamaican film makers, and inspired others to copy our efforts for the greater good of Jamaica. I can rest now.

I am wondering why the Jamaican Government plans to import a little-known U.S. actress to host their own Jamaica Film Festival in July of this year. In Bob Marley’s 70th anniversary year, I would have thought support for a Jamaican woman who has staged a film festival celebrating reggae and Jamaican culture over the years might have been more appropriate. But who am I to question why, or how these things happen?

Anyway, Barbara is not well – and perhaps tired of pursuing her passion alone – despite the success of previous years, and the support of filmmakers like Stephanie Black (“Life and Debt”) and many others in the film industry. 

I am also suffering from the aftermath of flu. So, get well soon, Barbara!

Barbara Blake Hannah
Barbara Blake Hannah

 


5 thoughts on “The Reggae Film Festival: An Update and a Gracious and Grateful Ending

  1. THANK YOU Barbara for all your selfless work dedicated to the building of a new Jamaican film industry over the years, as someone who has been researching the genre for 20yrs i can testify that i have seen such a big change in the Jamaican film landscape both in Jamaica and Internationally since the conception of the event in 2008. From the launching of new careers, new films which where born out of chance meetings at the RFF, copycat events worldwide and the bringing together of Jamaica’s grass roots film community which includes all, the event has been an overwhelming success in many ways which i did not first anticipate, despite the many hurdles it’s faced over the years as i have witnessed first hand. THANK YOU for all your efforts, i know exactly how much you put into making Jamaica a better place and am eternally grateful not only for your work but for the experience you provided me and others each year. “The Stone that the builder refuse, will always be the head cornerstone”…. Get Well Soon.

    Like

  2. Ms. Hannah sounds like an amazing woman; I’ll always wish that I could have attended even one of the film festivals she organized (but I live in Maryland, USA). A speedy recovery to you, Barbara, and I hope to read about your next endeavors on Petchary’s Blog! Get well soon, Emma…

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment, Larry! Yes, great work and some really great films, too! I will certainly be reporting on Barbara’s projects here. Thanks so much for your good wishes… 🙂

      Like

  3. Love you Emma for writing this. Thanks for all your support over the years, and especially now. The Reggae Film Festival was hard work, but fun overall. Been doing film festivals since 1974. Time for me to climb new hills. There’s still time 🙂 BLESS YOU

    Like

    1. Barbara, you are more than welcome. Yes, there are always more opportunities just round the corner. Everything has its season. I wish you all the best and I thank YOU for all that you have done for Jamaican culture and for sharing with the world a positive – and uniquely personal – perspective on Jamaica and Jamaicans.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.