For The Children: A March Last Sunday

Social activist Michael Abrahams organized a march on Sunday, May 17 in Kingston. I was not there – but I was there in spirit. I wanted to share with you some photographs of the event, shamelessly filched from others’ Facebook pages (well, I did warn them!) The aim is sincere. It is important to galvanize and raise awareness still higher as we seek to Protect Our Children. We have been doing a poor job, so far. Dr. Abrahams pledges that real action will follow.

Crazy activists! Who says you can't have fun while protesting? (Photo: Michael Abrahams/Facebook)
Crazy activists! Who says you can’t have fun while protesting? (Photo: Quality of Citizenship Jamaica/Facebook)

Here’s a Facebook comment from Mikey that I thought I would share here, as it sums up his (and actually, my) philosophy: “Yesterday I looked at the crowd that had gathered for the ‘Protect Our Children’ march. I saw adults and children. I saw Christians and non-believers. I saw Labourites and Comrades. I saw straight people and LGBT people. I saw uptowners, inner city people and country folk. I saw dark-skinned people and light-skinned people. I saw well educated people and not so well educated people. I saw people of means and people of little means. But everybody stood together, laughed together and walked together in the same direction for a common cause. Why can’t we do that more often? Forget about our differences and come together for the things that really matter, like justice and equality?”

We love our children. Let’s protect them from harm, and let’s love them a whole lot more. That’s all they need.

Michael Abrahams amidst several lady friends! (Far left is Senator Kamina Johnson Smith)
Michael Abrahams amidst several lady friends! (Far left is Senator Kamina Johnson Smith)
Respect Jamaica! (From their Facebook page)
Respect Jamaica! (From their Facebook page)
The Respect Jamaica crew.
The Respect Jamaica crew.
Feeling the energy… (Photo: Respect Jamaica/Facebook)
Feeling the energy… (Photo: Respect Jamaica/Facebook)
Eve for Life representing at the March. #NuhGuhDeh  Leave our young girls alone!
Eve for Life representing at the March. #NuhGuhDeh Leave our young girls alone! (Photo: Quality of Citizenship Jamaica/Twitter)
Photo: Respect Jamaica/Facebook
Photo: Respect Jamaica/Facebook

 

11218505_10153030725733005_3602454601279823157_n

A message for the fathers.
A message for the fathers. (Photo: Quality of Citizenship Jamaica/Facebook)            
11205084_450525095101462_2355215677636993849_n
Photo: Quality of Citizenship Jamaica/Facebook

 


One thought on “For The Children: A March Last Sunday

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.