Weekly Photo Challenge: Wanderlust

We don’t travel overseas much these days – partly because we find air travel increasingly stressful, and also because it is a rather costly occupation, these days. So I have somewhat curbed my wanderlust, which is this week’s Photo Challenge.

Although I have a strong dislike of airports and planes, I do however love boats and trains (there was a Burt Bacharach song with a title like that – Dionne Warwick’s haunting voice…) So one of my most enjoyable trips in recent years was a ferry boat ride from Grenada to the tiny island of Carriacou, in the eastern Caribbean. Unfortunately my husband does not share my love of boats, but any excuse and I will hop into one!

This was the occasion of a BirdsCaribbean International Conference in 2013. I am not sure which was better – the trip out, forcing our way a little against the tide with the breeze in our faces, watching the flying fish glide; or the return trip, with misty rain on the horizon and a rainbow accompanying us on the way. It was a truly memorable day, that literally floats through my mind from time to time.


10 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Wanderlust

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.