Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitude (The Fox and the Woodpecker)

Do animals get lonely? Are they “happy” with their own company?

When I was thinking about this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge – Solitude – I found two photographs I took of our fellow creatures, quite alone.

Jamaican Woodpeckers often like to perch at the top of the lamp post near our home. I watch them, perched up there, in any kind of weather, perfectly alone.

I was looking out of the back window of our friends’ house in London one sunny morning in September, a few years ago. There, curled up on their lawn was a beautiful fox. He was peacefully asleep, and did not move as I came closer.

This beautiful creature only thought he was alone, as it turned out. I was there with my camera; and a couple of feet away, a domestic cat strolled, unconcerned, in the flowerbed.

Sleeping fox, North London. (My photo)
Sleeping fox, North London. (My photo)

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitude (The Fox and the Woodpecker)

  1. Good question about animals. I wonder about the same thing. Love the fox all curled up. We have woodpeckers as well visiting the urban jungle we live.

    Like

    1. I think animals enjoy solitude sometimes (unless, I suppose, they are the kind of bird that flocks)… Amazing that woodpeckers seem to be comfortable in the town. Our yard is full of trees but we are still in the middle of town ourselves!

      Like

    1. Oh… With this new design, that one appears if you click on “Home.” It’s rather annoying because I can’t do a caption for the cover photo either. That photo doesn’t appear in the main text, I should probably put it in there.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.