#AtoZChallengeJamaica J is for Janga, and a few other Jamaican delights


Here’s a mouth-watering letter “J” from Dennis Jones!

Jamaica: Political Economy

I had aseemingly mundane encounter during the week, as I needed to get my car valued for insurance purposes. Along the way, I struck up a conversation with the evaluator, who looked about my age. He asked where I was from and when I told him Jamaica, he said “Alright.” We chatted while he checked the car, and continued in the office while his young colleague input the data. We’d been talking about food, outside, as I explained some differences between our cuisine and that of The Bahamas. But, when we got back into the office, and his colleague was entering the data, we got to talking about some Jamaican dishes that are delicious but not so well known.

We reminisced about janga (freshwater cray fish) soup; the boys selling them along the roadside in Clarendon, near the railway line, just before you reach Manchester. Peppery, and fine. 🙂

Screen Shot 2016-06-08 at 7.27.16 PM Janga…

View original post 102 more words


Leave a Reply

